‘Rs 60 cr extorted from me’, claims Nithyananda

NT Bureau | Wed, 13 Jul, 2011,03:21 PM
.
After lying low for several months following the alleged ‘sleazy’ video with an actress that was aired on television channels, ‘Godman’ Nithyananda today made a public appearance and categorically stated that the video was doctored and fabricated.

Addressing a ‘packed’ media meet, Nithyananda said, ‘I have formally lodged a complaint with City Police Commissioner and I now await a quick response’.

.
Dwelling on the ‘video’ issue, Nithyananda alleged that the ‘Sun Group and Nakkheeran publications were trying to divert the attention of the public from their illegal activities by making false claims on me’.

He further claimed, ‘they threatened me and sought Rs 100 crore and it was later brought down to Rs 60 crore. They extorted money from me and still continued to air the video’.

Queried about why he paid the money, Nithyananda said, ‘when an influential businessman like Sivasankaran is forced to sell his company for no fault of his, I am just a ‘sanyasi’ and I had no option then’.

Stating that it was nothing but a case of obscene material being telecast on television channels, he said, ‘the criminal offender is rather the one who produced the clippings and telecast it.’

He also alleged that Nakheeran Publications had made huge money by uploading the video on their website.

On the question of threat to his life then, he said, ‘ I was not worried about me but was more concerned about my devotees’.

Stating that it was an attack on Hindu religion, Nithyananda said, ‘those who let lose violence on my ashram in various parts of Tamilnadu and Pudhucherry then not only damaged my pictures but also damaged Shiva temples and broke lingams in the ashram premises’.

He further stated that that those at the power centre then too had benefited from him. He said, ‘women belonging to the powerful families had visited my ashram and offered prayers’.

Office-bearers of the ashram, advocates and actress and disciple of Nithyananda Ranjitha were also present on the occasion.

 

http://newstodaynet.com/newsindex.php?id=23488%20&%20section=6

Leave a Reply

